Steve Spurrier Honored at Inaugural Nick Saban Legacy Awards

Chris Doering was honored to attend the inaugural Nick Saban Legacy Awards in Birmingham, Alabama, on May 2, 2022. Presented by the Monday Quarterback Club, The Quarterbacking Children’s Health Foundation, and Coach Nick Saban, Steve Spurrier, and the late Eddie Robinson of Grambling State were awarded.

The award was established to honor the lifetime achievements and lasting

impact of noteworthy college football coaches and their contributions to the game. Spurrier, a Heisman Trophy winner and former head coach at Duke University, the University of Florida, and the University of South Carolina, led Florida to a national championship in 1996 and 6 SEC championship victories. Teams under Spurrier were SEC Eastern Division champions 8 times, and his overall head coaching record was 217-79. Named ACC Coach of the Year twice and SEC Coach of the Year 7 times, he is credited with developing players like Danny Wuerffel, Chris Doering, and Emmitt Smith, as well as countless coaches.

Of Spurrier’s legacy, Saban said, “We need personalities in this profession. We need characters. We need people who inspire people to be interested in our game, and there’s no bigger personality, no bigger character that ever did that in my mind than Steve Spurrier, and he does not get the credit for the impact that he had on the game. He revolutionized the game that you see right now.”