Spurrier Awards 2024


Mike Griffith, Freshman All-America Committee Chairman

Football Writers Association of America

(770) 845-3244



Tricia Garzon, Reception Director

The JAG Agency, Inc.

(352) 214-2331



Gainesville, Fla. (December 2023) – Coach Steve Spurrier and Chris Doering are proud to host the third annual Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) First-Year Coach and Player of the Year Awards. The evening will begin with a cocktail and buffet reception at 4:30 PM at Spurrier’s Gridiron Grille, followed by a formal presentation.

The First-Year Coach Award is presented to the NCAA coach who achieves the most success, as voted on by the committee, in their first year at a school. Last year’s winner was Sonny Dykes, head coach of TCU.

The Legend Coach Award is presented to a past NCAA football coach who is deemed legendary in their own right, as voted on by the committee. The Freshman Player of the Year, sponsored by Chris Doering Mortgage, and Steve Spurrier Legend Coach Award will also be presented at the reception.

Please contact Tricia Garzon with inquiries regarding 2024 sponsorship opportunities.

Catch Up on the 2023 Spurrier Awards

First-Year Coach Sonny Dykes, Legend Coach Bob Stoops, and Freshman Player of the Year Drake Maye were honored at the 2023 Coach Steve Spurrier Awards Reception last year at Spurrier’s Gridiron Grille in Gainesville, Florida.

Here’s what you missed!

Thank You to Our Past Sponsors

The Mills Group Keller Williams Real Estate
Saliwanchik, Lloyd & Eisenschenk
International Diamond Center
Gainesville Health & Fitness
Gator Sports Properties-Learfield
Johnny Townsend Foundation
Chik-fil-A Archer Road
Precision Construction Solutions

Scorpio Construction
Campus USA Credit Union
Avera & Smith
O2B Kids
Cornerstone Financial Group
Jersey Mike’s