Inaugural Steve Spurrier Legend Coach Award & First-Year Coach Semifinalists Announced

Gainesville, Fla. (November 23, 2022) – Chris Doering Mortgage is proud to present the inaugural Steve Spurrier Legend Coach of the Year Award recipient, Coach Bob Stoops. The Legend Coach award recognizes a coaching legend, as determined by committee, for their career accomplishments.

Bob Stoops is most well known for his time as the head coach at the University of Oklahoma, leading the Sooners to a 191-48 record from 1999-2016, ten Big 12 conference championships, and a national championship. Stoops also served as the defensive coordinator under Head Coach Steve Spurrier at the University of Florida, helping that team win it’s first ever National Championship in 1996. Stoops is a two-time national coach of the year, six-time Big 12 Coach of the Year and College Football Hall of Fame Inductee.

Steve Spurrier Legend Coach Award Winner Bob Stoops

“We’re thrilled to announce Bob Stoops as our first Legend Coach of the Year Award recipient,” said Coach Steve Spurrier. “As the winningest coach in Oklahoma school history, he achieved unprecedented success during his 18-year tenure, winning ten conference titles and a national championship,” said Spurrier. “I like to judge great coaches on consistency, to me those are the best coaches in the country.”

Spurrier and former player ESPN College Football Analyst Chris Doering will present Stoops with the award at a reception planned for February 27, 2023 at Spurrier’s Gridiron Grille in Gainesville, Fla., an event that will also include presentation of the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) Steve Spurrier First-Year Coach Award presented by Chris Doering Mortgage.

“It’s an honor to have Coach Stoops coming here to accept this award,” said Doering. “Having watched his career progress from being a vital part of the 1996 National Championship team here at Florida, to getting his first opportunity as a head coach at Oklahoma, the immediate impact he had on the Sooners program was not a surprise to me.”

“I am also excited about the semifinalists for the First-Year Coach Award,” continued Doering. “This is shaping up to be a very interesting vote, with all of the truly qualified candidates there are this year.”

The semifinalists for this year’s Steve Spurrier First-Year Coach Award are:

Sonny Dykes, TCU – The Horned Frogs have gone from 5-7 in 2021 to 11-0 and playing in the Big 12 Championship Game with a chance to make the CFP.

Lincoln Riley, USC – The Trojans have gone from 4-8 in 2021 to 10-1 and playing in the Pac-12 Championship Game with a chance to make the CFP.

Brian Kelly, LSU – The Tigers have clinched a spot in the SEC Championship Game and are 9-2 after starting the season with a loss and going 6-7 last year.

Dan Lanning, Oregon – The Ducks reeled off eight straight wins after a season-opening loss to Georgia and are 9-2 with a chance to play in the Pac-12 Championship Game.

Kalen DeBoer, Washington – The Huskies are 9-2 and have the nation’s passing leader in Michael Penix Jr. (3,640 yards) after a 4-8 record last season.

Jon Sumrall, Troy – The Trojans are 9-2 and on track to win the Sun Belt West Division after a 5-7 mark last season. Jim Mora, UConn – The Huskies are 6-6 after a 1-4 start, showing vast improvement after a 1-11 record last season.

The finalists for the Steve Spurrier First-Year Coach Award will be announced in early December following the conference championships, with winners being announced mid-January. Last year, the Steve Spurrier First-Year Coach Award was awarded to co-winners Josh Heupel of Tennsessee and Shane Beamer of South Carolina at a reception in February, also held at Spurrier’s Gridiron Grille in Gainesville. The event was attended by both coaches, Coach Spurrier, Chris Doering, FWAA’s Mike Griffith, many other notable Gator and NFL greats, dignitaries from all three schools, members of the media and event sponsors.

For more information on attending or sponsoring the February 2023 reception, which will include presentation of both awards, please contact Tricia Garzon of the JAG Agency at (352) 214-2331.

Pictured L-R: Coach Steve Spurrier, Coach Shane Beamer, Coach Josh Heupel, Mike
Griffith, Chris Doering at the First-Year Coach Award Reception, February 1, 2022, at
Spurrier’s Gridiron Grille, Gainesville, Fla.

Chris Doering Mortgage, based in Gainesville, FL, was established in April 2007 as a residential lending company providing mortgage products including conventional, FHA, USDA and VA loans. The branch is a division of – 3940 NW 16th Blvd., Suite A, Gainesville, FL 32605 – NMLS 70168/1937321. FHA Lender ID 2631500094. For more information, visit CFB Analyst Chris Doering, former player for Coach Spurrier both in college and professionally, serves as the branch manager.

Founded in 1941, the Football Writers Association of America consists of journalists, broadcasters, publicists, photographers and key executives in all areas of college football. The FWAA works to govern media access and gameday operations while presenting awards and honors, including an annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its programs and initiatives, contact Executive Director Steve Richardson at (214) 870-6516 or

Mike Griffith, Freshman All-America Committee Chairman
Football Writers Association of America
(770) 845-3244

Tricia Garzon, Reception Coordinator
The JAG Agency, Inc.
(352) 214-2331