

MEDIA CONTACT

Mike Griffith, Freshman All-America Committee Chairman Football Writers Association of America (770) 845-3244

Mikegriffith032@gmail.com

AWARD RECEPTION CONTACT

Tricia Garzon, Reception Coordinator The JAG Agency, Inc. (352) 214-2331

tricia@jagagency.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Steve Spurrier Awards announces change in Legend Coach of the Year Award recipient

Gainesville, Fla. (Jan. 22, 2025) – Frank Beamer will be the new recipient of the **Steve Spurrier Legend Coach of the Year Award**, presented by Chris Doering Mortgage, after a scheduling conflict left the previously announced winner, Phillip Fulmer, unable to attend the ceremony.

Beamer spent the majority of his coaching career at Virginia Tech, where he won a school-record 238 games in 29 seasons. He returned to his alma matter after six seasons at Murray State. Beamer retired in 2015 with five conference Coach of the Year awards, three BIG EAST titles and four ACC titles.

"We're honored to have Coach Frank Beamer as our legend," Steve Spurrier said. "He certainly is very deserving. I've known him for quite a while. I don't think I ever had a game against him, so we're even with each other, but certainly he had some outstanding teams there at Virginia Tech."

Spurrier and Beamer's teams never collided on the football field, but the two College Football Hall of Famers frequently compete on the golf course. Spurrier said that Beamer was a "good player and excellent competitor" on the green.

Beamer won 11 of his 23 bowl appearances with a Virginia Tech program that had only produced one bowl win in its last six opportunities prior to his arrival. His most notable wins included the 1995 Sugar Bowl against Texas, the 2009 Orange Bowl against Cincinnati and the 2009 Chick-fil-A Bowl against Tennessee. Beamer's teams led to the creation of the term "Beamerball" due to their playmaking abilities on all sides of the ball. The phrase has since been passed down to his son and current South Carolina head coach Shane Beamer, who both played for and coached under his dad.

"Super excited for him to receive this honor," Shane Beamer said. "Learned so much from him — so proud of the fact that he's the same person today that he was back in 1992 when they won two football games at Virginia Tech. Success never went to his head. He always treated people the right way and stayed the same person and stayed grounded."

Spurrier and ESPN college football analyst Chris Doering will present Frank Beamer with the Steve Spurrier Legend Coach of the Year Award on Feb. 24, 2025, during a reception at Spurrier's Gridiron Grille in Gainesville, Fla. The event will also include presentations for the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) Steve Spurrier First-Year Coach Award and Offensive, Defensive and Special Teams Freshman of the Year Awards presented by Chris Doering Mortgage.

Previous Steve Spurrier Legend Coach award winners include Coach Bob Stoops, 2022, and Coach Mark Richt, 2023.



Bob Stoops speaks before accepting the inaugural Steve Spurrier Legend Coach Award at the 2nd Annual Steve Spurrier Awards Reception in February 2023 at Spurrier's Gridiron Grille in Gainesville, Fla.



FWAA's Mike Griffith, Chris Doering, Steve Spurrier 2023 Legend Coach Mark Richt and Steve Spurrier at the 3rd Annual Steve Spurrier Awards Reception in February 2024 at Spurrier's Gridiron Grille in Gainesville, Fla

Also notable, Shane Beamer was a co-winner of the FWAA's Steve Spurrier First-Year Coach in 2021 along with Tennessee coach Josh Heupel.



Steve Spurrier with 2022 Steve Spurrier First-Year Coach co-winners Shane Beamer and Josh Heupel, FWAA's Mike Griffith and Chris Doering at the 1st Annual Steve Spurrier Awards Reception in February 2022 at Spurrier's Gridiron Grille in Gainesville, Fla.

ABOUT AWARDS RECEPTION

The award recipients will be honored at a special reception on Monday, February 24, 2025 at Spurrier's Gridiron Grille and Celebration Pointe in Gainesville, Fla. hosted by Chris Doering Mortgage. The event will celebrate the achievements of these exceptional individuals and their contributions to college football. For more information visit www.SteveSpurrierAwards.com and for attending or sponsoring the reception, contact Tricia Garzon of the JAG Agency at (352) 214-2331 or tricia@jagagency.com.

ABOUT CHRIS DOERING MORTGAGE

Chris Doering Mortgage, based in Gainesville, Fla., was established in April 2007 as a residential lending company providing mortgage products including conventional, FHA, USDA and VA loans. The branch is a division of MortgageAdvisors.com – 3940 NW 16th Blvd., Suite A, Gainesville, FL 32605 – NMLS 70168/1937321. FHA Lender ID 2631500094. For more information, visit MyGatorMortgage.com. CFB Analyst Chris Doering, former player for Coach Spurrier both in college and professionally, serves as the branch manager.

ABOUT FOOTBALL WRITERS ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA

Founded in 1941, the **Football Writers Association of America** consists of journalists, broadcasters, publicists, photographers, and key executives in all areas of college football. The FWAA works to govern media access and gameday operations while presenting awards and honors, including an annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its programs and initiatives, contact Executive Director Steve Richardson at (214) 870-6516 or tiger@fwaa.com.

###